Welcome to the Neural Networks Research Group web site.

The group is directed by Prof. Risto Miikkulainen and is located at the Department of Computer Sciences at the University of Texas at Austin.


NNRG in the media
8/22/2015 (updated 3/15/2016)

The work of NNRG and its alumni has recently been featured in a number of media outlets. For instance, UT's press release on Joel Lehman and Risto Miikkulainen's PLOS ONE article on how extinctions can accelerate evolution was picked up by a number of sites, including the National Science Foundation, Science Daily, phys.org, and even the Daily Mail. It generated much discussion e.g. on Twitter and io9, and a hilarious interview/skit with TexasExes. Ken Stanley and Joel Lehman's new book on novelty search was the focus of an article on FiveThirtyEight and Ken's radio interview. Dan Lessin's research was featured in the Robohub robotics news site. Risto was recently interviewed about game AI by the KXAN TV channel and about strong AI by the Austin American Statesman newspaper, and about evolutionary computation by David Beyer for O'Reilly Radar Podcast. Also, a well-known gamer Seth Bling used NEAT to create a Mario-playing agent---a YouTube video of it has over 2 million views. The word is getting out!

Previous Spotlights