Welcome to the Neural Networks Research Group web site.

The group is directed by Prof. Risto Miikkulainen and is located at the Department of Computer Sciences at the University of Texas at Austin.


Schrum wins GECCO Best Paper Award---again!

Jacob Schrum and Risto Miikkulainen won the Best Paper Award in the Digital Entertainment and Arts track at the GECCO 2015 Conference for their paper on Solving Interleaved and Blended Sequential Decision-Making Problems through Modular Neuroevolution. Jacob received his PhD in Spring 2014 and is currently an Assistant Professor at Southwestern University. This is his second such award, following the one from GECCO-2014. In addition he has won two best paper awards from the IEEE Conference on Computational Intelligence and Games, in 2011 and 2009. Way to go Jacob!

Previous Spotlights